tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Look in here for tips on buying a 'Kit', using Sat Nav, keeping your car in 'good nick' - and more......

Moderator: Contaminated

User avatar
robert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:06 pm
Contact:

tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby robert » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:44 pm

Hi. I am having trouble downloading from tyre to my Garminnuvi 2340.

I have copied, opened tyre and a int but tyre can find my garmin device to download to.

anyone able to help?
I'm not very good with computers so step by step advise would be nice.

Regards Robert

User avatar
locost220
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Lewisham South London
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby locost220 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:03 pm

STEP 1 OPEN BIN
STEP 2 DROP GARMAN IN BIN
STEP 3 BUY A TOM TOM

Sorry not much help am i, not sure the tyre works on garmen, most of us use older Tom Toms to run the tyre software / use the itn routes sent out.
A few use others software on Garmen, sure they will be along soon to talk sense.
Rich.
Locost book chassis, Under reconstruction :D :?

User avatar
DJ.
Posts: 5418
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby DJ. » Fri Dec 29, 2017 7:35 pm

locost220 wrote:STEP 1 OPEN BIN
STEP 2 DROP GARMAN IN BIN
STEP 3 BUY A TOM TOM


:lol:

Sorry, I can't help with Garmin route transfer either.

User avatar
b33fy
Posts: 6049
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Tonbridge
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby b33fy » Fri Dec 29, 2017 8:25 pm

Hi Robert, I’ll have a close look at mine tomorrow, though iirc it can be a bit hit and miss. This is as much an issue with Tyre than the Garmin. Double check you have Tyre set to Garmin rather than Tom Tom which is its default setting. Also check that the Garmin is recognised by the computer when you plug it in. It should come up on the garmin screen when plugged in. When you upload to the Garmin, it does take a while, minutes rather than seconds.
Power.. small nail, fast hammer, Torque.. small nail, big hammer.. I got a big hammer :P

User avatar
robert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby robert » Sat Dec 30, 2017 7:26 am

Thanks :D

locost220 wrote:STEP 1 OPEN BIN
STEP 2 DROP GARMAN IN BIN
STEP 3 BUY A TOM TOM

Sorry not much help am i, not sure the tyre works on garmen, most of us use older Tom Toms to run the tyre software / use the itn routes sent out.
A few use others software on Garmen, sure they will be along soon to talk sense.
Rich.

User avatar
robert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby robert » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:08 am

Up date.
I have unclicked tom tom int and poi in the settings.
Clicked on the Garmin int and poi.
tyre changed the tom tom button to Garmin and says the route was sent to my Garmin, BUT I can't find it when looking from the sat nav.
I have tried under settings, my maps, resent ect but still no luck.
If I plug in the sat nav in the GPX file I can see the newlands to chalet file.

Robert :(

b33fy wrote:Hi Robert, I’ll have a close look at mine tomorrow, though iirc it can be a bit hit and miss. This is as much an issue with Tyre than the Garmin. Double check you have Tyre set to Garmin rather than Tom Tom which is its default setting. Also check that the Garmin is recognised by the computer when you plug it in. It should come up on the garmin screen when plugged in. When you upload to the Garmin, it does take a while, minutes rather than seconds.

User avatar
b33fy
Posts: 6049
Joined: Sat Mar 31, 2012 11:40 am
Location: Tonbridge
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby b33fy » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:48 am

Where are you looking on the sat nav? It should be under trip planner? Where to >Trip Planner > Go
Power.. small nail, fast hammer, Torque.. small nail, big hammer.. I got a big hammer :P

User avatar
robert
Posts: 67
Joined: Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:06 pm
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby robert » Sat Dec 30, 2017 2:23 pm

I've tried Trip Planner, my maps, settings, looked at every thump nail, in Where to and tools still no luck.

I will trip planner way points by hand. As i know how to to that.
So should I splash out and buy a New Tom Tom?
What one should I get?
I want one with Western Europe!
Should I just get an older one like Tom Tom XXl ?


b33fy wrote:Where are you looking on the sat nav? It should be under trip planner? Where to >Trip Planner > Go

User avatar
locost220
Posts: 4004
Joined: Sat Mar 13, 2010 7:31 pm
Location: Lewisham South London
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby locost220 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 6:25 pm

Suggest you enjoy the tun tomorrow and have a look at Graham TomTom and how easy using itn is. Make sure if you do decide to get one you get one with the functions or others know how to out it on for you.
Rich.
Locost book chassis, Under reconstruction :D :?

User avatar
Matth93
Posts: 2260
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 10:43 pm
Contact:

Re: tyre downloading to Garmin " HELP "

Postby Matth93 » Sat Dec 30, 2017 9:21 pm

I tried to do itinerarys on a older garmin and it wouldn't work as it didn't have that function on it so I switched to a tomtom but I believe the newer ones wont do it as they've changed the software. my brother has a garmin that it works on I think its a drive 50 but will check and let you know. Don't worry tomorrow we will keep you in sight


Return to “Useful Info - tips, tricks ....”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests