Newbie Yank in Germany

So you've just joined, why not say a few words to introduce yourself - a bit about you, your car - whatever!

Moderator: Contaminated

Dudefladge

Newbie Yank in Germany

Postby Dudefladge » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:02 pm

Hello All,

I was pointed in this direction when I posted on the Locostbuilders forum about a ride along.

I've never owned, ridden or even sat in a kit car, but here I am thinking of buying one! :shock:

I'm a US Soldier stationed in Germany and really miss my car hobby. I want to build my own Locost, but I can't even weld yet so I think a vehicle that is already somewhat put together is a better option at this point. :lol:

I'm very interested in the Ginetta G20 as I've found a gentleman selling enough racing spares to put together a rolling chassis. I'm just going to focus on a track car for now. Getting a kit car or home built cat to pass inspection in Germany is not for the faint of heart and I want to be able to drive this thing before I leave.

I will look for some opportunities to go to kit car shows or get togethers to learn more. Looking forward to getting involved.

Rob

DJ.

Re: Newbie Yank in Germany

Postby DJ. » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:10 pm

Hi Rob, welcome to SKCC :)

You're right about getting kits on the road in Germany, I was talking to a German Caterham owner and he said he wasn't even allowed to change the exhaust on his Seven from the one it was approved with! We're very lucky in the UK.

Dudefladge

Postby Dudefladge » Sat Mar 19, 2016 10:31 pm

Hello Duncan and thanks for the welcome.

My previous assignment back in the US had me in Kentucky. You can register and drive just about anything and everything there! :shock:

greenwoo
Site Admin

Postby greenwoo » Sat Mar 19, 2016 11:03 pm